Student Exchange Programme

At NLSIU, we are constantly seeking to expand our academic engagements and collaborations. The University’s exchange programmes are an opportunity to broaden the knowledge base, gain new perspectives, and build an extensive professional network.

Outgoing students

Through the student exchange programme, students at NLSIU have an opportunity to study law at foreign universities and interact with its faculty and students. Studying abroad for a term helps our students gain perspectives with regard to other legal systems, diverse cultures and languages.

Incoming students

For incoming students, the exchange program presents an opportunity to build an understanding of Indian legal system, develop perspective of policy making in the Indian context, examine impact of international policies and developments, and gain insight into the Indian culture. They also bring along with them a diverse understanding of law particular to their home countries, and perspectives shaped by their society and culture.

Foreign students may choose from a diverse set of elective courses taught at NLSIU. Being a residential university, foreign students get a chance to closely interact with our students, and also participate in various student activities and events on campus.

The coordinator for the student and faculty exchange programme is Dr. Anupama Sharma and Dr. Salmoli Choudhuri.
For any queries, please write to

We will open applications for partner universities and notify students via email and the NLS website.

Selection Process

The selection criteria will be updated shortly.


Undergraduate students are permitted to go on an exchange only in the 5th year. The duration for the Exchange Programme will be confined to the first two trimesters for students in the 5th year of the BA LLB (Hons) programme.

Eligibility criteria for scholarship depends on arrangements with our partner universities and students will be notified of the same.

Rules & Regulations

  • Students must complete 16 equivalent credits in the designated Foreign University.
  • Previous two trimesters course obligations must be completed before they go for an exchange.
  • In case of exchanges with EU Universities, the number of credits to be completed is 24 European Credit Transfer System (ECTS).
  • Students cannot withdraw their applications once the names have been notified to the partner university.
  • If students fail to complete the required minimum number of credits in the Foreign University, they must take the required number of Elective Courses at NLSIU during the third trimester in the fifth year.

NLSIU has MoUs with many institutions for exchange of students, faculty, and ideas. We look forward to collaborating with our partner universities for various kinds of academic exchange. The names of the partner universities for AY 2023-24 will be updated shortly.

During the previous years, we have partnered with the following institutions:

Bucerius Law School, Hamberg, Germany
Dulhousie university, Canada
EBS Law School, Germany
Ecole De Formation Des Barreaux, France
Eritrea School of Law
Georgetown University, Washington D.C.
Ghent University, Belgium
Hof University, Germany
Korean National Police Academy, South Korea
Legal Research Institute, New Mexico, Mexico
Maastricht University, Netherlands
Macquarie University, Australia
University Paris-Dauphine
College of Law, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
National University of Singapore, Singapore
University of Bern, Switzerland
University of Cologne, Germany
University of Exeter, United Kingdom
University of Gothenberg, Sweden
University of Groningen, Netherlands
University of Queensland, Australia
University of Houston, Texas
University of Kwazulu-Natal, Durban, South Africa
University of Luxembourg
University of Cape Town, South Africa
University Pontificia Comillas, Madrid, Spain
Dickinson Pool School of Law, King’s College, London, UK
Tel Aviv University, Buchmann Faculty of Law, Israel
Sciences Po, Paris, France
University of New Hampshire, School of law, Franklin Pierce Centre for Intellectual Property, USA
Yaroslav Mudryi National Law University, Kharkiv, Ukraine
Queen Mary University of London, School of Law, United Kingdom
Saratov State Academy of Law, Satatov, Russian Federation
School of Law, Korea University, Republic of Korea
University of South Australia, Adelaide
University of Wisconsin Law School, USA
University of Zürich, Switzerland
Pantheon-Sorbonne, University of Paris, France

Incoming students

As per the terms of Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with our partner universities, incoming international exchange students to NLSIU are required to pay for lodging, internet, library and other infrastructure related fees. Once the candidate applies for the exchange programme in AY 2023-24, the fee structure will be intimated over email.

Subject to other conditions, incoming exchange students who want to continue for another trimester may be required to pay an additional fee per trimester.