Society for Non-Human Persons (SNHP)


The Society for Non-Human Persons (SNHP) is a student-run committee at the National Law School of India University, Bengaluru. Started by a group of environmentally aware students, the main aim of the committee is to give a voice to the voiceless non-human persons on campus. It recruits members from across batches, with every member being vested with a diverse set of responsibilities to fulfill.

One important focus of the Committee’s mandate is taking care of the non-human persons present on the NLSIU campus. SNHP has engaged in a diverse set of activities to this end, from ensuring adequate treatment for injured non-human persons to conducting vaccination and sterilisation drives. During the lockdown, SNHP has coordinated with the administration to ensure that the non-human persons on campus are adequately provided for, and has kept itself updated regarding their health and well-being.

Our Work

The Committee’s mandate further extends to raising awareness about the issues faced by non-human persons in academic circles, most notably the legal domain. In furtherance of this aim, SHNP has started the Animal Rights Awareness Series, under which periodic mails containing literature on contemporary issues facing non-human persons are sent to the members of the NLS community. Further, during lockdown, it has diversified its activities by conducting multiple informative webinars on contemporary Animal Rights issues. Every year, the SNHP also conducts the NLS Animal Protection PIL Competition, which is the first and only Animal Protection-focussed PIL Competition in the world, and witnesses participants arguing on a broad range of animal rights related issues.

Plans for AY 2020-21

In the Academic Year 2020-21, in addition to the activities undertaken in the previous years, the SNHP plans to chart new terrain by introducing a blog on Animal Law. Further, it aims to conduct more informative webinars on a variety of animal rights related issues. Lastly, the members aim to continue to work with dedication for the non-human persons on campus, and ensure their sound health and well-being.


New students can join the committee as member or co-opts, by applying for the respective posts when applications for the same are called for. The recruitment procedure is usually conducted in the beginning of the academic year.

Committee heads & members:

  • Aagam Jain
  • Abhiudaya Verma
  • Aman Garg
  • Aman Meena (Joint-Convenor)
  • Anushka Tiwari
  • Chetan R
  • Lahar Jain
  • Prince Chandak
  • Saumya Singh
  • Sidhant Arya
  • Srivatsan R (Convenor)
  • V Ashish
  • Vidushi Gupta

Contact Us

Instagram: @nls_appc